RSS Feed

Home again

Posted on

So I took one of those crazy, last-minute sort of trips this past weekend. It was a family thing and I needed to go out to Virginia pretty quickly. Thankfully, the trip went fine. Now I’m home. That was about five days away from Ashtyn. I was so excited to see her at the airport. I have to admit, I was rather hoping she’d missed me terribly and would light up at the sight of me. However, the guy next to her and Jeff (who was holding a sign and waiting to pick someone up) was far more interesting than I was. She did smile at me, but she couldn’t spare much since she really needed to be intently watching this driver-guy. Well, even if she didn’t quite give the reaction I hoped for, I, in turn, was overjoyed to see her and smothered her with hugs and kisses and all that mommy stuff. By the end of the night though, she did reach for me when it was time to do the bedtime thing, which was nice and appreciated. I cannot really tell you how beautiful she is. Words cannot express how cute this little girl of mine is. I am so lucky. 

Anyway, there’s a lot going on with my family at the moment. The weekend was super busy. And now I’m back to work and home, and I’m still super busy. In fact, the foreseeable future is super busy. I may need to start drinking energy drinks.

The drive to the airport was spent with me and Sara brainstorming over this fantasy series we want to write. It’s mostly Sara brimming with ideas, and me occasionally reigning her in or offering a suggestion here or there. Brainstorming ideas, especially for a fantasy book, is just great because the sky is the limit when it comes to plot. Anything is possible when magic is involved.   We did have time this weekend to swing by Given’s books in Lynchburg, the best bookstore ever. I was devastated to find that Osaka has been torn down though. There’s a pile of rubble where it used to be. But Given’s is there. Liberty’s presence in Lynchburg is, mmmm, how shall I say this? Oh, right. OVERWHELMING. The town should be called Liberty. Seriously. It’s everywhere.

Anyway, I was reminded that I just love Virginia. It’s so, so green and beautiful. And I miss it. But I really missed Jeff and Ashtyn like crazy the last few days. So it’s good to be home. But I suppose Lynchburg will always be a tiny bit like home to me too. You know, something about Candler’s Mountain and Movies 10 just stays with LU students. 🙂

About Brandy

Brandy Bruce is an author, editor, wife, mother, and someone who really loves dessert. She has a BA in English from Liberty University. She currently works as a freelance editor--reading, writing, editing, and making good use of online dictionaries. She's married to Jeff and has three beautiful children.

One response »

  1. Hey Brandy,

    So random. I just popped onto your blog for the first time in a while and was thrilled to read a post that brought me back to my college days =) GREAT TIMES in Lynchburg for sure. Matt and I always went to Tokyo’s on Timberlake (just like Osakas). We go there every time we visit and wish there was a place like that here in DE.

    I agree, Lynchburg will always be like a second home!!

    Take Care,

    Melissa

    Reply

Leave a Reply

