RSS Feed

Reading list

Posted on

Hmm. So yesterday I was reading my friend Melanie’s blog and she’s got this list on there of one hundred books (you’re supposed to see how many of them you’ve read). So I was going through the list and having a hard time remembering exactly what I’ve read. I know that if I read it, and then forgot it, it probably didn’t do all that much for me. But I had these huge reading lists in college and there were those times when I ended up just renting the movie for lack of time or motivation–and so I was trying to separate those that have been read from those that have been watched. (Terrible, I know, and I shouldn’t really admit to that, but there you have it.) So I was chastising myself and deciding instantly to read all the books on the list that definitely should be read (except for books like Kite Runner–seriously, I just can’t bring myself to choose to be depressed for hours.). Anyway, later on I was considering just how long it’s going to take me to read all those books that I’m not dying to read and I started to feel like maybe reading all those books is not in my immediate future. There are some books that I want to read because I’m interested (like The Shack) and then there are books I want to read because I just really want to read them. I’ve said before that I’m a fan of YA literature. So lately I’ve been reading the Blue Bloods series. It’s fabulous. Vampires and reincarnation and angels–who knows why I love it but I do. I’m also reading a nonfiction book at the moment called The Christian Imagination and it’s great so far. (I do try to intake more than just vampire stories 😉 ). I’m also one of those people who likes to reread her favorite books. And if I’m arguing with myself about reading something I feel I should read or reading something like, I don’t know, Harry Potter–Harry Potter would usually win. 

 Check out Mel’s blog and see just how well-read you are. 🙂 http://melanieandmatt.blogspot.com/

About Brandy

Brandy Bruce is a Bookvana award-winning author, editor, wife, mother, and someone who really loves dessert. She has a BA in English from Liberty University. She currently works as a freelance editor--reading, writing, editing, and making good use of online dictionaries. She's married to Jeff and has three beautiful children.

One response »

  1. I always get nervous when people ask me what I’m reading. There’s always a stack by my bed, another stack by my chair, a book in my car and some in my bag for work! There’s research, there’s what I want to read, what catches my eye and what is a must read. I’m finishing Vanish by Tom Pawlik, I’m reading several books on creative journaling for a class I’m teaching, I’m reading some classics because I’ve assigned them to my homeschooling daughter and I’m reading Mysteries of the Middle Ages in prep for a Celtic novel I’d like to write. I’ve read less than usual this summer because I was finishing my first novel. My mantra has been “You can read a book or you can write a book – which will it be?” I’m happy to have completed the writing. I can take a break to read without guilt!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

