RSS Feed

Stuck

Posted on

So do you ever feel like you just need a vacation from your life? Like maybe you should drop everything and start living in a fantastic cottage somewhere in Scotland where you have charming neighbors and a really pretty Christmas wreath for your front door.

I know. We all have those days/moments when we just look off into the distance and imagine a different life. It’s not that you really want to exchange all that you have for that different life–just maybe a week or two would be enough to refresh and inspire you. I was thinking that maybe this is one reason why writers write. It gives them the chance to immerse themselves in a different world/life for just a little while.

Escape is the word I’m looking for. 

We’re trying to sell our house at the moment, and as you know, it’s not the greatest time to try to do that. Which is so frustrating. Because when you’re ready to be somewhere different–you just want it to happen. It reminds me of when I decided I was ready to be pregnant. I wanted it to happen fast. Once you’re ready–it’s all you can think about. So while we wait for the house to sell, I try to avoid feeling stuck, but it’s not easy.  I know it’s important to be content with where you are. I don’t think that’s the problem. I’m not disappointed with my life whatsoever. In fact, I feel so lucky to have a sweet husband and a little baby and a job that involves doing what I enjoy and a family that’s loving and supportive and all those great things. So I don’t know if it’s discontentment as much as it is restlessness. Like I’m supposed to be somewhere and I’m really anxious to just be there already. You know the feeling.

Vacation is not in my immediate future. Jeff’s starting a new job. Flying with Ashtyn is not my favorite thing to do and she doesn’t sleep well in hotel rooms. You can see how that whole “stuck” feeling is creeping up on me.

My friend Kelsey and I were talking the other day about things that make us feel happy. (For example, we’d both just had our hair cut.) Anyway, we were talking about the fact that the smallest things can suddenly make us feel so much better. Like new nail polish. Or a new purse. I mean, a trip to Scotland would be great. And that’s probably in my future somewhere down the road when Ashtyn is actually able to say more than three words. But isn’t it crazy how just buying some new eyeliner can make your day? (Or lipstick, or shoes, or a new book, or one of your favorite movies, etc. Do you have ideas?)

I don’t know if buying something new is the best remedy to feeling stuck, but it helps.

Did I mention I just got this new super-cute yellow purse? 🙂 Well, I did.

About Brandy

Brandy Bruce is an author, editor, wife, mother, and someone who really loves dessert. She has a BA in English from Liberty University. She currently works as a freelance editor--reading, writing, editing, and making good use of online dictionaries. She's married to Jeff and has three beautiful children.

One response »

  1. Love this post Brandy. I think most of us can relate. I wrote something a while back called Romance and Realism http://samanthakrieger.wordpress.com/2009/06/17/romance-and-realism/

    This post reminded me a little of what I wrote on. (just the idea of wanting to be somewhere else at times) It’s a hard place to be stuck and waiting. Ugghh. Just thinking about it is difficult.

    I hope the move goes well and I will be praying for that perfect buyer.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

