RSS Feed

Yeah, so it’s been a while . . .

Posted on

Well, I suppose it’s been a while since I posted. I really am the worst person ever when it comes to blogging or twittering or updating my status on facebook. The only thing I’m consistent with is email and that’s because of work really. But seriously, twittering every time I step outside of my house or turn on the TV is just not that appealing. My life is not that interesting.

Anyway, so what’s going on over here? Well, we took a quick trip to Texas, which was fantastic except that it was about 104 degrees every day. Seriously. I think for those of us who grew up with that sort of humidity and heat, it may be just slightly more bearable. But I really can’t imagine growing up somewhere like Colorado and then moving to Texas. Don’t get me wrong. I’m a loyal Texan. But the humidity and heat can be overwhelming. So it was fun, just hot. And now we’re back. We’re never there long enough to do all the things we’d like to do, which is unfortunate. But seeing my family is always my priority and that’s what we were able to do this time and it was great. Of course, Ashtyn was the primary attraction. Everyone adored her, naturally. I mean, come on, she’s adorable. 🙂

Sara wasn’t there this time around since she’s married and everything and living in Virginia. So I really missed seeing her. Laura and I were able to spend time together scrapbooking, which is something I like but never seem to have enough time to do. So having sister time and scrapbooking was extra fun.  I like photo albums and scrapbooks because I’m just not that great at remembering stuff. Jeff and I were in Europe the year before we got married, and I made myself write down what we did everyday. I’m so glad now because I wouldn’t remember anything by this point. Despite this fact about me, I’ve never been one for consistent journaling. I had maybe two journals from when I was younger and I threw them both away right before I got married. I scanned through them and realized that nothing I’d written was anything I really needed to remember.

I read this great quote today from Pride and Prejudice. “Think only of the past as its remembrance gives you pleasure.” That’s great advice. But for some reason, it’s those unpleasant things that often stick with us, which is also unfortunate. But I think it’s true that as time goes by and the distance between you and those memories gets larger–they become easier to ignore and sometimes even easier to forget. At least, that’s how it is for me.

Anyway, next week we’ve got ICRS in Denver and I’m super excited about that. And what else is going on next week? How can you not know this? Harry Potter releases!! Yay! I cannot wait. So I’ll be in touch after and let you know how much I loved it.

About Brandy

Brandy Bruce is a Bookvana award-winning author, editor, wife, mother, and someone who really loves dessert. She has a BA in English from Liberty University. She currently works as a freelance editor--reading, writing, editing, and making good use of online dictionaries. She's married to Jeff and has three beautiful children.

One response »

  1. I’m definitely not into (or have chosen) not to constantly be updating my status or even joining twitter. I don’t mind occasional status updates if something big happens or something fun. I guess I’m the strange one too, not wanting to join every bandwagon that’s out there. Blogging has been a challenge for me too. I am lucky if I can do three posts a week. I’m really trying to get better. Journaling I have always done for 10 years now but with a new baby, that’s posed a challenge too! I think what I am getting at is that I’m content even though I might not be doing what everyone else is. Love your posts Brandy. I like reading into your life and I think your life is interesting 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

