RSS Feed

Sick Sick Sick

Posted on

So let me tell you about last week in the Bruce home. I was surrounded by sick people. Jeff started coming down with a cold last weekend and it only got worse, and Ashtyn started feeling sick on Sunday and that only got worse too.  Let me just share the highlights of this awful week with you. Things weren’t looking so good on Tuesday. I took Ashtyn to the pediatrician because she’d been throwing up nonstop and I was worried about her getting dehydrated. Jeff was sounding more and more like a frog, so he went to see our doctor on Tuesday.

I’ll just tell you a little character-quality regarding my husband. He’s kind of a germ-freak. Really. He’s all about using antibactierial gel as often as humanly possible and cleaning everything with clorox and such. And the moment things like “swine flu” start being talked about, the antibacterial gel doubles in our house.

So he goes to our doctor and the women at the desk hand him a mask and ask him to please wear that while he’s waiting. Jeff notices that absolutely no one else has been asked this. He alone is wearing a mask. So he’s sitting there and every person who comes into the office looks at him with terror. People sit as far from him as possible, as though he’s stricken with the plague. He coughs, since that is why he’s there, and this older man jumps from his seat, rushes to the front desk and loudly asks the women there, “Have there been any cases of swine flu in our area?”

Hmm. Like the lone guy in the mask? Poor Jeff. If they only knew that he’s more careful than most. Still, I couldn’t help laughing out loud at the thought of my masked husband scaring everyone at the doctor’s office. 🙂

Later, Jeff and I take Ash to see the pediatrician. Apparently a stomach virus is going around and lots of kids have been sick. We just need to keep her drinking fluids and she’ll be fine. Great.

The only problem is that she’s worse. By Wednesday she’s not throwing up anymore, but she’s not quite herself yet either. And then Thursday morning she wakes up with a 102 fever. Now I’m panicked and I call Jeff and try to tell him this calmly. Because another quality of my husband is severe paranoia when it comes to Ashtyn. 🙂 I tell him that she’s got a fever and I’m leaving to take her back to the pediatrician.

We get there right before they close for lunch, so they send us back to see the doctor. Her fever hasn’t changed so the doctor is checking her out and trying to see down her throat. Obviously Ashtyn hates this and is wiggling and screaming. So while he’s trying to check her throat, she gags and vomits EVERYWHERE. That is not an exaggeration. It’s all over the table, the floor, me, her–you get the idea. The doctor has to recruit help to clean the tiny room–because I really do need help. So there are three nurses and myself trying to clean up the mess. One of the cute nurses (and they really are nice and helpful) starts yelling at another cute nurse not to step in it, it’s everywhere! Right. Glad we’re ALL freaked out. So after I’ve tried to wipe off my arms and Ashtyn’s entire body–the nurses send me to a clean room. The doctor comes in to finish the exam and tries to talk to me about Ashtyn while she’s screaming as loud as she can. I’m trying to understand but having to nod and just guess on some things because having a conversation at that moment really is impossible. And since Ashtyn will not calm down, the inevitable happens. She decides to throw up again, all over me. The doctor visit is coming to an end quickly.

Clean room is no longer clean.   

End of story, we go home and keep giving her fluids and trying to keep her cool and by the next morning she’s doing a little better. Her fever is coming down. So we just keep doing what we’ve been doing. By Friday night her fever is gone–but now her temperature is around 96.5. Hmm. Is this normal?  I’m thinking. To go from really hot to abnormally cool? We call the nurse and she says that it’s probably just dropped because her fever finally broke–but to keep an eye on her because 96 really is too low for a baby. Later in the night she reaches a little over 95 and I’m trying not to panic. We keep adding clothes on her and checking her temperature even though she’s exhausted and just wants to be left alone.

And finally, by Saturday morning, her temperature is getting back to normal. Ashtyn was still exhausted though and slept as much as she could. Jeff’s taking antibiotics and is very slowly getting better. And I’m somehow untouched by the sickness. I hope it stays this way for me.

It could have something to do with the antibacterial gel in every room (that I’m strongly being encouraged to use). 🙂

 

http://alphainventions.com/opinion.xml

About Brandy

Brandy Bruce is a Bookvana award-winning author, editor, wife, mother, and someone who really loves dessert. She has a BA in English from Liberty University. She currently works as a freelance editor--reading, writing, editing, and making good use of online dictionaries. She's married to Jeff and has three beautiful children.

One response »

  1. What a week! I think for the most part, mothers have a “super power” that keeps them from catching the colds and such that our families get. It works out well, so we can take care of them =)

    It is NEVER fun when the little ones are sick. I hope everyone is feeling much better now!!

    Sincerely,

    Melissa

    Reply

Leave a Reply

