RSS Feed

Blog tour and interview with author Laura Jensen Walker

Posted on

At 35, Paige Kelley is feeling very “in between.” She’s still working her temp job after two years, still not dating three years after her divorce, and still melting at every chubby-cheeked toddler she sees while her biological clock ticks ever louder. Paige even moves back home to help her ailing, high-maintenance mother.It’s not exactly the life she’d dreamed of!

When her book club members urge Paige to break free and get on with her life, she’s afraid. But a trip to Scotland and a potential new love interest help launch an exciting new chapter in her life, and lead Paige to discover that God’s plan for her promises to be more than she ever imagined.

Could you tell me a little about your inspiration for Turning the Paige?

Well, ‘Paige’ is the second in my Getaway Girls series, (DARING CHLOE was the first, about a woman who gets dumped the night before her wedding, which I wrote about from personal experience, although my dumping–which turned out to be a really good thing AND a God-thing–was thankfully a full week before the wedding. Anyway, in looking at the other girls in the book club, I found I really wanted to learn more about Paige. She wasn’t so front and center as some of the others and I wanted to unravel her story and shed a light on her–kind of a slight twist on the sandwich generation, except Paige’s sandwich is missing the second slice of bread (children-which she desperately wants.) I’ve also been wanting to go a little deeper with my fiction, and Paige’s story allowed me to do that.

What do you love most about writing and when did you know you wanted to be a writer?

The delight of discovering the story as it unfolds. Although I know my
beginning and usually a general idea of the ending of my novels, all the
stuff in between is as much a surprise to me as it is to the reader. How fun
is that? 🙂 And I knew I wanted to be a writer in Miss Vopelensky’s
first-grade class when I read 103 books.

Out of all your books, do you have a favorite? Or a character you relate to
most?

Such a hard question–and I know other authors have said this before me;
it’s like asking a mother who’s her favorite child 🙂 How can she pick?
However, having issued that disclaimer (by the way, the only child I have is
a canine ‘daughter’ Gracie) let me say that certain books do hold a special
place in my heart.

My first novel, DREAMING IN BLACK & WHITE with Phoebe Grant, was the
culmination of a lifelong dream: to write fiction, so that book will always
be special to me. (Besides, a lot of Phoebe is me: her old movies obsession,
her being a reporter and writing obituaries–my first journalism job.’)

RECONSTRUCTING NATALIE is also very special to me because it’s the story of a young woman coping with breast cancer and I’m a 17-year breast cancer VICTOR, not just survivor.

And in TURNING THE PAIGE, my wonderful Renaissance-man husband Michael was a lot of the inspiration for Marc, so I have a soft spot in my heart for Paige also. (By the way, for you Phoebe Grant fans, you’ll be happy to know that Phoebe makes a cameo appearance in TURNING THE PAIGE 🙂

I’ve just finished the edits on my third Getaway Girls novel, BECCA BY THE
BOOK (releasing Jan. 2010) where I got to let my inner snark run wild. Becca is very, very sarcastic, so that was pretty fun and freeing 🙂

What books are you reading at the moment?

For sheer escapism because my family has been going through some difficult times lately, Eclipse, the third in the Stephenie Meyer vampire series that all the teenage girls love. Although I haven’t been a teenage girl in many moons, I’m gobbling up the books. (LOVED Twilight. And no, I’ve never had a thing for Dracula or vampires. Ever.) But it’s a page-turning escape, which is what I need right now. Also, on my nightstand is Sarah Young’s devotional, JESUS CALLING.

 

As a fan of Phoebe Grant myself, I have to say that Laura’s personal, hilarious, and touching style of writing makes her characters relatable and real. How many women can relate to the opening line of Dreaming in Black and White, “My thighs were at it again”? 🙂 This new story about Paige Kelley takes us on a new and exciting adventure. And that’s what we’re all looking for, right? A little adventure in our lives. A hope that God’s got a plan for us, too. A desire to go a little deeper in our relationship with Him. Laura understands those hopes and dreams and captures them in a story we can all enjoy. Check it out.

http://www.amazon.com/exec/obidos/ASIN/0310276985/

About Brandy

Brandy Bruce is an author, editor, wife, mother, and someone who really loves dessert. She has a BA in English from Liberty University. She currently works as a freelance editor--reading, writing, editing, and making good use of online dictionaries. She's married to Jeff and has three beautiful children.

Leave a Reply

