RSS Feed

Anniversaries and Valentines

Posted on


Remember back in elementary school when buying valentines was a big deal? The first major question was what kind, then–far more important–who’s on your list to receive them? (Of course, I think most moms make their kids give one to everyone they know, to avoid hurt feelings and all that.) Well, Valentine’s Day is coming up. And even before that, my wedding anniversary is February 8th. And I’m wondering why it’s so hard to come up with something creative to do! One year Jeff and I went to a restaurant, beforehand we’d each written a list of ten things we really loved about the other person and we exchanged lists at dinner that evening. That was sweet. Last year I burned a CD for Jeff with all the songs that have been special to us, and called it the Jeff and Brandy Soundtrack. He liked it. But it gets harder to think of creative things to do. Especially when you have a five month old who’s most likely going to be with you on both occasions. So if you’ve got ideas, please share.

What I like most about these days, however, isn’t the presents and definitely not the pressure. But it really is so nice to feel loved, isn’t it? To receive flowers and chocolates and cards that tell you you’re special to someone. To know that you are someone’s valentine. That’s what I like about this holiday. Jeff and I usually try to combine our celebrations since they’re so close together. Our very first Valentine’s Day as a couple was back in 1999. I was away at school in Virginia. Jeff flew out there for the weekend and brought me such a nice present. A gold ring with three hearts (that my sister helped him pick out ;)). I gave him the book Guess How Much I Love You? It was by far one of the most special Valentine’s Days that I’ve experienced. When we were married in 2003, Valentine’s Day ended up being the last day of our honeymoon. We were in Maui and we made dinner reservations at the restaurant at the resort. I was really excited because the restaurant was doing something special for the holiday. (I can’t remember what! I just wanted to go.) And I had a special dress to wear.

And that afternoon I started feeling sick. Really sick. The food-poisoning kind of sick where you think you will die.

So it’s my honeymoon and I’m in the bathroom, crying and throwing up, and Jeff is timidly knocking on the door, asking if I need him.

Only one week into the marriage and he gets to experience me being so sick that by the end of the night, I was so weak he had to carry me to the bathroom so I could throw up. Needless to say, the reservations were cancelled, the champagne was put away, and I wore pajamas all night instead of my special dress.

And it was still okay. We ended up with takeout and ordered a movie on demand and it was still a pretty memorable Valentine’s Day. Maybe not the most fun, but definitely memorable. And I still felt so loved because he took care of me. And that’s what it’s about. Feeling loved and loving others. (And chocolate doesn’t hurt.)

So I’m all about the romance around this time of year. It’s good stuff.

About Brandy

Brandy Bruce is an author, editor, wife, mother, and someone who really loves dessert. She has a BA in English from Liberty University. She currently works as a freelance editor--reading, writing, editing, and making good use of online dictionaries. She's married to Jeff and has three beautiful children.

Leave a Reply

