RSS Feed

Thanksgiving 08

Posted on

familySo this year I probably have more to be thankful for than ever before. I’m thinking of our little pumpkin of course (also known as Ashtyn Noel). This is our first Thanksgiving as a family unit. I guess I always thought of Jeff and I as being a family. But three definitely feels more like a family than two. Two feels like a couple. A married couple, but a couple all the same. We had a really nice Thanksgiving. We miss our family so much, but God’s been so good to give us great friends out here in Colorado. We spent our day with Mark and Nancy (& Joe) and Tammy and Nathaniel and had all the yummy Thanksgiving foods that make this holiday fantastic. Thanksgiving meal

I really do love Thanksgiving. You spend time with family (or friends!) and have great food and don’t have the pressure of presents. Don’t get me wrong, I love Christmas and I love presents. 🙂 But there’s something really nice about just being together to be together–without the expectations of presents and such.

So what else am I thankful for? Well, for one thing, the place where I work just had a round of layoffs. So I’m thankful for my job–and praying for all those who are now looking for new jobs. And I know it’s not just my workplace that’s going through this. Times are hard for lots of people. It’s so important to pray for each other and be there for each other whenever possible. 

So I’m thankful for my job. My baby. My husband. My home. My family. My salvation. And all the other good stuff that makes life wonderful. Being thankful for Ashtyn is a new kind of thankful. I’ve never wanted to take care of anything as much as I want to take care of her–to protect her, to make her feel loved. It’s a great feeling, and kind of a scary one. Because I don’t think I’ve ever had this kind of responsibility before. It’s really nice to know I’m not alone in this task. Having Jeff’s help is so necessary. But isn’t it nice to have a whole network of people supporting you and there when you need them? Ash wasn’t feeling so hot this morning and I called my mom who had suggestions for me. Laura called later and they all wanted to know how Ashtyn was doing. Because they care. Because they’re her family too. girlsHaving friends and family is just such an incredible blessing.

I think I forget how lucky I am to have Jeff in my life. But when I think about being thankful–I have to think about him. And how glad I am he decided to like me about 10 years ago. Because our lives can go in so many directions, right? One different decision and your life could look so different from where you are now. The thought that Jeff and I are together just because our paths crossed in Conroe, Texas is amazing. And how much better life is with us being together. All the things we’ve done and experienced together. As a couple, as friends, as partners. Now we’re finding out what it’s like to be parents. I should be more conscience of it. More thankful on a regular basis. That’s one of those great things about Thanksgiving. A whole day to remind all of us to be thankful. Because we need it, right? Definitely. We need to be reminded. Life goes fast–it’s so important to be aware of all that we have. All we’ve been blessed with. guys

Oh yeah. And we need a special day where we all eat turkey. 🙂

About Brandy

Brandy Bruce is a Bookvana award-winning author, editor, wife, mother, and someone who really loves dessert. She has a BA in English from Liberty University. She currently works as a freelance editor--reading, writing, editing, and making good use of online dictionaries. She's married to Jeff and has three beautiful children.

Leave a Reply

