RSS Feed

Life with Ashtyn

Posted on

My life has changed just a little bit. For example, I just had to jump up and run back to the bedroom again to turn on a blue seahorse that lights up and plays music. Wedding music at that! 🙂 

Changes. Some pleasant, some difficult, but all worth making to live with this new little person who is my daughter. The last few weeks have been . . . in a word, overwhelming.

And that’s okay.

Life can be really montonous. Routine. But then there are those moments of absolute amazement and joy–and if those moments sometime come through difficulty, they’re often just more precious to you. Jeff and I have been together going on a decade now. Every day isn’t spectacular, but there are definitely moments that are worth remembering–like the first time he kissed me. Or the day we got married. Or the day I told him we were going to have a baby. Those are major moments in our history together–but there are less significant but just as needed times as well. Dancing in the street before we got married. Playing in the snow in our backyard in the middle of the night. The first night we spent in our house. Dinner together at the Old Stone Church. Reciting vows in Scotland. We’ve changed as the years have passed, our lives look different now than they did at the beginning. And I think. . .  change is good, when what’s important stays the same. Like the security I feel when we’re together, or the comfort I feel when he holds my hand.

Ashtyn already seems to change so fast to me. I can hardly believe that she’s more than two weeks old now. Can it really be almost three weeks since I gave birth? Time is passing quickly. And even though my life has changed, I can’t help but think of how much I’ve been blessed. Jeff and I still just look at her–amazed that she’s ours.

Like I said, it’s been a rough few weeks. We’re still adjusting. But there’s nothing like the feeling of seeing Ashtyn look up at me. It’s one of those moments that you hold on to forever.

About Brandy

Brandy Bruce is an author, editor, wife, mother, and someone who really loves dessert. She has a BA in English from Liberty University. She currently works as a freelance editor--reading, writing, editing, and making good use of online dictionaries. She's married to Jeff and has three beautiful children.

One response »

  1. Everyone says that it goes so quickly so we tried to remember every moment. At some point, though, even with the cherishing they slip by too quickly.
    I hope you guys are able to cherish, enjoy, and take joy in the passing of time – knowing that with growth comes even more beauty and special times.
    We’re praying for you guys…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

