RSS Feed

Getting closer

Posted on

 Today marks five days until my due date. Wow. I can’t believe it. We’ve done all the baby showers (thank you so much to everyone!) and received so many thoughtful gifts from friends near and far. The nursery is waiting for Ashtyn’s arrival. My overnight bag is packed and ready to go with me to the hospital. And Friday was my last day at work for a while. Which is good, because my ankles have disappeared and I need to spend more time resting and less time being so busy.

I think I’ve just about reached that point pregnant women talk about–where you are really ready for pregnancy to be over. The thought of labor is still pretty scary–but I’m ready to be me again. Me without the constant feeling that I’ve swallowed a watermelon or struggling to sit up or stand up or going to the bathroom every ten minutes because I’m so thirsty I drink gallons of water. So . . . yeah. I’m ready to just be me and to actually hold Ashtyn and get to know her. Jeff’s definitely ready for all that too.  

It’s a little like getting married. I know that within the next few days, my life is going to change forever. And just like when I got married–I feel ready and excited and thankful. The picture in this post was taken at my shower at Nanci McAlister’s house. All the girls prayed for me. It was a great moment and something I really needed.

So the countdown goes on. If I go past my due date, I’m scheduled to be induced August 18th. So no matter what, I’ll have my baby sometime in the next 9 days. Amazing.

Be looking for that baby announcement!

About Brandy

Brandy Bruce is a Bookvana award-winning author, editor, wife, mother, and someone who really loves dessert. She has a BA in English from Liberty University. She currently works as a freelance editor--reading, writing, editing, and making good use of online dictionaries. She's married to Jeff and has three beautiful children.

Leave a Reply

