RSS Feed

Wishes

Posted on

I was reading in Pub Weekly the other day about a book called Twenty Wishes. (I should clarify that I was skimming the magazine and I’m trying to vaguely remember the title and what exactly the article said.) I’m pretty sure the general idea was having a list of twenty wishes–or twenty things you want to do. The author mentioned something about seeing a waterfall with her husband. I mentioned this to my boss and he said it sounded like the movie called The Bucket List. But I’m pretty sure that movie is about fulfilling goals because you know you’re dying. I’m thinking it might be a good idea to start a tad earlier on this project.

A list of twenty wishes sounds like a great idea. Because I like setting goals, this idea isn’t really new to me. I had a list of things I wanted to do before I got married, and most of them happened. But here I am–five years into marriage and a baby on the way. It may be time for a new list. New goals for the next five years of my life. I can’t think of any one thing that stands out as something that should be #1 on my list–but there are lots of things I’d still like to do, still like to see. Jeff and I decided to go out for breakfast this past Saturday morning. So over French toast, we talked about setting some new goals (or making new wishes).

I won’t tell you all my wishes. But I will tell you one. I’d like to see a frozen waterfall. 🙂

I think it’s so important to have dreams and goals and to fulfill those that you can. Isn’t it great to look over your life and be able to check off those dreams that were realized? There was a cereal box a while back that had this list on the back that said “Things to do before you graduate high school!” Of course, when you’re in high school, it’s often difficult to see that there’s life beyond high school. But for those people who start setting goals for themselves early, imagine how much they will accomplish all through their life!

Twenty wishes. I’m going to make a list.

About Brandy

Brandy Bruce is a Bookvana award-winning author, editor, wife, mother, and someone who really loves dessert. She has a BA in English from Liberty University. She currently works as a freelance editor--reading, writing, editing, and making good use of online dictionaries. She's married to Jeff and has three beautiful children.

Leave a Reply

