RSS Feed

Music and other inspirations

Posted on

So I was in Texas this past weekend. And while it was a mostly great, very quick trip–traveling wears me out these days. Sara burned me an old Caedmon’s Call CD while I was there and I downloaded it onto my iPod once I got home. But do you know that feeling? The one where you hear a song from a long time ago and it just takes you back to where you were then? I was listening to that CD and suddenly I was in my dormroom in Virginia. Courtney was rushing around, going somewhere with George. I was trying to think of something to write about. I know why I loved that CD so much. I was away from home and certain songs mention Texas–Houston specifically–and being a Houston-girl myself, hearing music about my hometown, words about places that were familiar to me, felt so comforting.

I was back in Texas to see my BFF. She just had a baby (about 9 weeks early). And baby Gillian will have to be in the hospital for several weeks while she continues to grow. I wanted to be there with Michelle. I was taking a gift basket for the baby and wanted to give Michelle something that might be good for her right now. I ended up making her a CD of our favorite songs from some of the greatest moments we’ve had together. Songs that she and I cannot hear without giggling or smiling or remembering something fabulous.

Music can be so comforting. And inspiring. Some people want absolute quiet while they write (or work). For me, music helps with creativity. And while there may be moments when quiet is what I need, more often than not, the perfect song can provide the inspiration I need.

I think I might listen to Somewhere North just one more time.

About Brandy

Brandy Bruce is an author, editor, wife, mother, and someone who really loves dessert. She has a BA in English from Liberty University. She currently works as a freelance editor--reading, writing, editing, and making good use of online dictionaries. She's married to Jeff and has three beautiful children.

Leave a Reply

