RSS Feed

Marriage and Fishsticks

Posted on

So my husband, Jeff, does most of the cooking in our home. Mainly because of our schedules. As I was driving home from work one night this week, Jeff called to tell me that he was making fishsticks for dinner. I told him that was fine with me. Half an hour later when I walked through the door of our house–a bit tired and having a headache–I stood in the doorway and started to laugh. The fishsticks were on the stove. I asked Jeff how many he had made. He turned around confused for a moment, and then replied that he’d made the whole box. Forty-four fishsticks. … For two people. I was laughing again, and then he was laughing. And I thought–this is one of those great early-marriage stories.

I love being married to Jeff. I love that we ate maybe eight fishsticks out of forty-four. And I mostly love that the two of us can still find so many things to laugh about together. It’s just one of those things that makes marriage so much fun.

This coming weekend is the Writing for the Soul conference in Colorado Springs. I’ll be working all day Saturday and I’m already looking forward to hearing Robin Gunn as the keynote speaker at dinner that evening. Being around lots of people who love books and writing is just fun for me. I’ll let you know if I come away from the conference with any words of wisdom! 🙂

About Brandy

Brandy Bruce is an author, editor, wife, mother, and someone who really loves dessert. She has a BA in English from Liberty University. She currently works as a freelance editor--reading, writing, editing, and making good use of online dictionaries. She's married to Jeff and has three beautiful children.

Leave a Reply

