RSS Feed

Airports and Waiting

Posted on

So airports and waiting are two of my most un-favorite things. (And missing flights.) And I experienced both in pretty large doses this past weekend. In between the airports and waiting, however, I got to see my family, which is always a good thing. And while I was waiting, I finally had a chance to read more of Philip Yancey’s book Prayer, which (so far) is incredible. For example, Yancey talks about the fact that in the garden of Gethsemane, Jesus prays “Your will be done” at the end of his struggle with God. Then Yancey says:

“I have become convinced that the phrase ‘Your will be done’ belongs at the end of my prayers, not at the beginning. If I begin with that qualifier I am tempted to edit my prayers, to suppress my desires, to resign myself to whatever happens. I thus cut short what God wants from me: that I make known my requests, and in so doing make known my self.”

I think sometimes I start with just going ahead and saying that God’s will be done, partly because I believe it will be, and partly because then I don’t have to go through the time and effort of telling God all my feelings and thoughts and wishes and desires. I mean, He already knows, right? Sure. But if Jesus took the time to tell God how He was feeling, it must be a good thing. And then it occurs to me–how can I build a relationship with someone I never talk to? I mean, really talk to.

If I think about my closest relationships, I’d have to say that they are with those friends or family members who will listen, not judge, and who care about what I have to say. Those people I love to spend time with, laugh with, vent to, share secrets, and so on. So if I want to have a relationship with God, something that goes deeper than mere acquaintance, I need to be willing to share myself. And the best part in doing this is knowing He’s already promised that He’s interested.  

About Brandy

Brandy Bruce is a Bookvana award-winning author, editor, wife, mother, and someone who really loves dessert. She has a BA in English from Liberty University. She currently works as a freelance editor--reading, writing, editing, and making good use of online dictionaries. She's married to Jeff and has three beautiful children.

Leave a Reply

